2024 Triennial Award



The NAC has decided to reduce the number of categories for the 2024 Awards in an effort to provide better competition across the categories.

The categories will be –

  • Group Entry – any technique
  • Bobbin Lace
  • Needlelace
  • Other – can include mixed techniques
  • Novice – has never won an award anywhere for Lacemaking (to include Junior lacemakers)


You can download the application form here.

We encourage all entrants to explore the theme in all it’s wider aspects.

If you have any questions please contact the Triennial Co-Ordinator

Recent Triennial Themes and Winners


Past Triennial Themes

  • 2000: Tasmania ~ Heirlooms, Yesterday, Today & Tomorrow
  • 1997: Victoria ~ Victoriana
  • 1994: New South Wales ~ Lace to Wear
  • 1991: Queensland ~ Australiana
  • 1989: South Australia ~ Nature


In 1984, Gabrielle de Mestre Pond urged the Lace Guild to hold a competition for lace designed with an Australian theme. Gabrielle also donated the prize, an antique Brussels lace bertha collar. The winner was voted by the members after publication of the entries. In 1989 the competition was redefined, introducing a judging panel and different lace categories and so the Triennial Lace Award was born.

The awards are held once during each three year term of the NAC.